Who Are The Three Main Gods In Hindu Triumvirate (Trimurti)?

The Hindu triumvirate consists of triumvirs named Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu, and Lord Shiva. Lord Brahma deals with creation, Lord Vishnu deals with maintenance and Lord Shiva deals with the destruction of the universe.

This group of powerful deities is also known as the Hindu Trimurti.

According to Hindu tradition, the universe never came to be at some particular point, but always has been, always will be, but is perpetually in flux. Time and space are of cyclical nature. This universe is simply the current one, which is in flux and constantly changing, when it finally ceases to manifest, a new universe will arise.

The birth of the universe (represented by Lord Brahma) is followed by the life of the universe (represented by Lord Vishnu) and the destruction of the universe (represented by Lord Shiva).

Hindu Triumvirate (Trimurti) description:

Brahma – The Creator

There are a couple different stories in Hindu tradition that tell of why Brahma is rarely venerated (in present days). One of the main reason is that Lord Brahma’s role as the creator of the present universe is over.

It is up to other gods (Vishnu and Shiva) to preserve the world and continue the path of reincarnation, or perhaps destruction is closer to us and our experience.

According to a legend, Brahma is not worshiped because of a curse by the great sage Brahmarishi Bhrigu, one of the seven great sages.

Lord Brahma was self-born within the water and the seed from which He was born was a golden egg, which burst open and expanded into the universe. However, there are other sources which say that Brahma was self-born from a lotus or that He was born from a lotus that sprouted from Lord Vishnu’s naval.

His consort is Goddess Saraswati. She is a part of Tridevi, which consists of Saraswati, Lakshmi, and Parvati. All the three goddesses help the trinity of Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu, and Lord Shiva to create, maintain and regenerate-recycle the Universe respectively.

Goddess Saraswati can guide you in creative pursuits. Additionally, She is said to refine your character and help further your education when sincerely venerated. The Goddess transcends the cravings of the flesh and rejoices in the powers of the mind as the patron of pure knowledge and wisdom. She also embodies all that is sublime and pure in nature.

Vishnu – The Preserver

Lord Vishnu is the Hindu god of preservation and controls the order and peace of the creation. He is said to descend in form of an avatar to restore cosmic order.

A branch of Hinduism regards Lord Vishnu as the ultimate Lord of all. This branch is called Vaishnava. Hindu sacred scriptures hold that He sleeps in the middle of a vast ocean on the giant snake Sheshnaga.

The standard list of the Ten Avatars of Lord Vishnu is composed of – Matsya, Narasimha, Kurma, Varaha, Vamana, Rama, Parashurama, Krishna, Buddha, and Kalki.

Vishnu is depicted with four arms. These four arms represent that He is all-powerful and all-pervasive. Lord Vishnu’s physical existence is represented by the 2 arms in the front, while the 2 arms at the back signify His presence in the spiritual world.

In addition, Vishnu wears 2 earrings. These earrings signify inherent opposites in creation — ignorance and knowledge; unhappiness and happiness ; pain and pleasure.

Worshiping Lord Vishnu and His wife Goddess Lakshmi helps with prosperity, protection, knowledge, and a satisfying life.

Lakshmi is a goddess of fortune and abundance in Buddhist tradition and was represented on the ancient surviving stupas and cave temples of Buddhism. The relationship and marriage between Goddess Lakshmi and Lord Vishnu as wife and husband is the paradigm for ceremonies and rituals for the bride and groom in Hindu weddings.

Shiva  – The Destroyer

Lord Shiva is the 3rd god in the Hindu Triumvirate. Shiva is accountable for the destruction of the universe. He is usually illustrated as having a temper but is commonly seen in a meditative state. Furthermore, He is also popularly known as Parameshwer, which literally translates as supreme of all.

Additionally, He is called the Lord of Dance, or the Nataraja. His most important dance is the Tandev, the cosmic dance of death, which Lord Shiva performs at the end of every age to destroy the world. Lord Shiva also performs the Lasya, which is the dance of creation.

Lord Shiva – The Destroyer  lives in Mount Kailash, which is considered the center of the world.

His son Lord Ganesh (also known as the Remover of Obstacles) is considered to be the one eligible for the first worship. So during any form of Hindu rituals or puja devotees offer their sincere prayer to lord Ganesha.

Shiva, along with His consort Goddess Parvati, is represented in the Ardhanarisvara form, which is a half male, half female icon.

Goddess Parvati  is the Hindu goddess of love, fertility, and devotion, as well as of divine strength and power. Goddess Parvati is the gentle and nurturing aspect of the Hindu goddess Shakti and one of the main deities of the Goddess-oriented Shakta sect.

Goddess Parvati and Lord Shiva are commonly symbolized by a yoni and a linga respectively (in a few illustration, Goddess Parvati and Lord Shiva are represented in different forms of sexual union). In ancient Hindu literature, yoni translates as womb and place of gestation, the yoni-linga metaphor translates as “origin, source or regenerative power”.

The linga-yoni icon is widespread, commonly found in Shaivite Hindu temples of Southeast Asia and South Asia. Furthermore, it is frequently named Shivalinga, and always has both linga and the yoni. This sacred icon signifies the interdependence and union of masculine and feminine energies in regeneration and recreation of all life.

Awakening State is an independently owned online magazine that seeks to bring together like-minded individuals focused on expanding their consciousness and personal growth.


Your email address will not be published.