Shani Dev is one of the most well-known deities that the Hindus pray to and is one of the Navagraha in Hindu astrology.

He is the slowest of the Grahas because Saturn takes 29.45 years (or 10,759 days) to revolve around the Sun. In Sanskrit, Shani comes from SANISCHARA, which translates as “slow mover”.

According to Markandeya Purana, He is the son of Lord Surya, the sun god, and Chaya, the servant whom his wife Swarna surrogated.

He is the brother of Lord Yama, the god of death and is considered by many devotees to be an avatar of Lord Shiva. According to the Vedas, his mother Anjana was an apsara who, due to a curse, was born on Earth as a female vanara.

According with some spiritual teachers, the very first time when he opened his eyes as a baby, the sun went into an eclipse, which clearly denotes the strong impact of this planet on astrological charts.

In Vedic astrology, the planet Saturn is called Shanaiswara. The name Shanaiswara literally translates as “slow mover.” The Sanskrit word ”shani” also denotes the 7th day or Saturday in most Indian languages. His alternate names include Kona, Ara, and Kroda.

He is considered to be the strongest malefic and a stern teacher who represents patience, effort, endeavor, and endurance.

He hates actions such as consuming alcohol, fraud, deceit, staying unclean, gambling, telling lies, animal cruelty, and disrespect of God, elders or parents. Nevertheless, a favourably-placed Saturn on the horoscope of a person stands for a healthy life, strong career, and everything positive for that person.

He’s gravitational power is more than that of the Earth’s. Hence, when we think bad or good thoughts and make plans, they reach Him by the strength of his power.

In astrological terms, the bad influence is considered as unlucky. But the result of good deeds will be good. Hence, we must understand Him as a friend and not as a foe.

He is most powerful in the seventh house and rules over the 2 sidereal signs of Aquarius and Capricorn. In addition, He falls in the sign of Aries and exalts in Libra. Saturn is an especially beneficial planet for Libra and Taurus ascendants.

According to legends, He has destroyed many men, monsters and other gods with his angry stare, but these powers were given to him by Lord Brahma (the Creator of the entire universe), Lord Vishnu (the formless Supreme God, also known as Narayana) and Lord Shiva (The Auspicious) to keep all evil on Earth under check.

He is frequently depicted as having a dark complexion figure carrying a sword and sitting on a buffalo (or crow).

Chanting Om Sham Shanicharaya Namah – Shani maha mantra – benefits:

Chanting this powerful mantra daily helps get rid of the negativity and removes hurdles from your path.

This mantra has to be recited with sincere devotion and facing west and a minimum of 7 times a day. One can recite the mantra 108 times using a rudraksha rosary and by keeping a yantra for improved results.


This mantra is supposed to be chanted 23,000 times.

Saturn Dhyan Mantra

”Nilanjana samabhasam raviputram yamagrajam
Chaya martanda sambhutam tam namami shaishcharam.”
Translation – ”I bow to Lord Saturn, who has dark complexion and son of Sun and born to Chaya and brother of Yama, who moves very slowly.”

Gayatri Mantra

”Om Sanaischaraya vidhmahe
Sooryaputraya dhimahi
Tanno manda prachodayat.”

Beej Mantra

”Om praam preem praum sah shanayishraya namah.”

Other Saturn mantras

“Aum Aing Hring Shring Shung Shanaishcharaye Namah Aum.”
”Om Hlim Sham Shanaye Namah.”